Queensland pianist Jayson Gillham is the winner of the 2008 Australian National Piano Award.

In addition to the First Prize of $20,000, Jayson was awarded special prizes and additional prize money for Bach, Mozart/Hadyn/Beethoven and Chopin.

Congratulations also to 2nd prize-winner Jonathan Wilson (ACT) and 3rd prize-winner Jocelyn Ho (NSW). 

A week prior to the competition, Jayson performed at Theme & Variations Piano Services – Queensland showroom.

Jayson is from Dalby in Queensland and at only twenty two years of age is gaining a reputation both in Australia and overseas as a determined and talented classical pianist. He is a graduate and medalist of the Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University where he studied with Leah Horwitz. He is currently enrolled in the Master of Arts course at the Royal Academy of Music, studying with Professor Christopher Elton.  

Jayson has performed on a number of occasions with major Australian orchestras, including The Queensland Orchestra, Sydney Sinfonia, Sinfonia Australis, the Willoughby Symphony, and the West Australian Symphony Orchestra.  

In 2005 at eighteen years old Jayson was awarded Third prize in the London International Piano Competition, when he played the Liszt Concerto No. 1 in E-flat in the Royal Festival Hall with the London Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Sian Edwards.  

Since commencing studies at the Royal Academy of Music, Jayson has been awarded the Academy’s Bach, Beethoven, Romantic and 20th Century piano prizes. He was recently awarded the Liszt Society Prize and the McCallum Prize in the 2008 Royal Over-Seas League Music Competition. In December 2007 he won first prize in the Beethoven Piano Society of Europe’s Intercollegiate Piano Competition.  Earlier in 2008, he won the Aachen International Piano Competition in Germany. 

Previous Winners of the ANPA include: 

1992 – Catherine Davis, NSW & Mark McGee, Vic.

1994  -Clemens Leske Jnr, South Australia.

1996 –  Lance Coburn, Q’land & Mark Kruger, Q’land.

1998 – Edit Golder, Victoria.

2000 – Kristian Chong, Vic. & Kenji Fujimura, Vic.

2002 – Anna Carson, Q’land. & Richard Jackson, Vic.

2004 – Matthew Kam, Victoria.

2006 – Amir Farid , Victoria



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

See All Events ›

News & Events Archive

Find us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Book A Test Play

There's no other way to choose the right piano than by feeling it and hearing it.

Book now ›

Contact Us

Call NSW: (02) 9958 9888
Call QLD: (07) 3666 0650
Send us an email



451 Willoughby Road
Willoughby NSW 2068

QLD - Service Centre

28 Ross Street
Newstead QLD 4006